Wednesday, May 18, 2011

PM Lee announces new Cabinet

PM Lee announces new Cabinet today

PM Lee Hsien Loong announced his new Cabinet in a press conference today. 11 of the 14 ministries will have a new minister in charge. The new Cabinet will see 9 ministers stepping down from the previous team.

K Shanmugam is named foreign minister but will retain his portfolio as Law Minister.

Three full ministers will be retiring from Cabinet - DPM Wong Kan Seng, National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan and Transport Minister Raymond Lim.

The second Deputy Prime Minister is Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam who will also be the Finance Minister and Manpower Minister.

Two newly-elected MPs have also been appointed ministers - Heng Swee Keat is named Education Minister, while Major-General Chan Chun Sing will be Acting Minister for Information Communications and the Arts.

Prime Minister: Lee Hsien Loong

Deputy Prime Ministers:
1. Teo Chee Hean
2. Tharman Shanmugaratnam

Finance Minister: Tharman Shanmugaratnam

Defence Minister: Ng Eng Hen

Foreign Minister: K Shanmugam

Home Affairs Minister: Teo Chee Hean

Law Minister: K Shanmugam

Health Minister: Gan Kim Yong

National Development Minister: Khaw Boon Wan

Manpower Minister: Tharman Shanmugaratnam

Information, Communication and Arts Minister: Yaacob Ibrahim

Transport Minister: Lui Tuck Yew

Education Minister: Heng Swee Kiat

Community Development, Youth and Sports (Acting) Minister: Chan Chun Sing

Environment and Water Resource Minister: Dr Vivian Balakrishnan

Trade and Industry Minister: Lim Hng Kiang

Ministers in Prime Minister’s Office:
1. Lim Swee Say
2. S Iswaran

Senior Minister of State for Ministry of Information, Communication and the Arts and Ministry of Environment and Water Resources: Grace Fu

Senior Minister of State, Prime Minister’s Office: Heng Chee How

Minister of State for Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports: Halimah Yacob

Minister of State for Finance and Transport: Josephine Teo

Minister of State for National Development and Manpower: Tan Chuan Jin

Minister of State for Defence and Education: Lawrence Wong

Minister of State for Health: Amy Khor

Minister of State for Trade and Industry: Teo Ser Luck

Minister of State for Trade and Industry and National Development: Lee Yi Shyan

Minister of State for Home Affairs and Foreign Affairs: Masagos Zulkifli

Emeritus Senior Minister: Goh Chok Tong

Retiring ministers: Wong Kan Seng, Mah Bow Tan, Raymond Lim, George Yeo, Lee Kuan Yew, Goh Chok Tong

No comments: